The Mayor of Wolverhampton

Wolverhampton's first Mayor, G. B. Thorneycroft, was elected in 1848. The Mayor is the First Citizen in the City and the Office of Mayor is the highest honour the local authority can give an elected Councillor.

Councillor Elias Mattu who sadly passed away on Friday 23 February, 2018 was the 159th Mayor of Wolverhampton, and was elected on 17 May 2017 for the 2017-18 municipal year.  A new Mayor will be elected at the Council meeting on 16 May 2018.  Until then, Mayoral duties will be carried out by the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Phil Page.